IYS Encore: Zohaib Hassan

IYS Encore FB Zohaib Hassan

Zohaib Hassan, 2013 VSA International Young Soloists Winner, holds his instrument the sarangi.

Zohaib Hassan, 2013 VSA International Young Soloists Winner

Name: Zohaib Hassan Khan
Instrument: Sarangi
Current City: Lahore, Pakistan
Year Won: 2013
1.    What led you to apply to the VSA International Young Soloists Competition?

One of my American sarangi students saw the opportunity mentioned on social media and told me about it.

2.    What is one of your proudest accomplishments (personal or professional) since winning the competition?

One of my proudest moments was meeting one of my American sarangi students while I was visiting the USA. I’ve been teaching him for years via skype, so it was very rewarding to hear him play sarangi for me in person.

3.    What was your biggest takeaway from being a VSA International Young Soloists Winner?

It was an awesome experience for me to visit the USA for the first time and to be a part of the VSA International Young Soloists program. Additionally, performing at the renowned John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts and meeting so many great people.

4.    Tell us something exciting you’ve been doing lately (performance, project, travels, job, etc.) .

I’ve been very busy! My debut solo sarangi CD is being released this month. It features Indo-Pak classical music and two folk tunes. I also performed in Romania for the first time.

Zohaib Hassan playing the sarangi.

Zohaib Hassan playing the sarangi.

Leave a Reply

